DUI Cost

Don’t Let a DUI Ruin Your Life – We Can Help!


What are the costs associated with A DUI?

BAC of less than .08%: Do you know what a typical DUI cost in the state of Florida? Driving Under The Influence (DUI) includes fines and penalties such as license suspension, installation of a ignition interlock, jail time, vehicle impoundment.

BAC of .08% or Higher: Fines and penalties go up if your found to have a higher BAC or have a passenger under the age of 18 in the car or if your involved in an accident, accident with minor injuries or even worse an accident with “serious bodily injury” or death.

Administrative License Suspension

It’s important to understand there are two different components to the fines and penelities when you receive a DUI in Florida.

  1. Administrative Penalties – DHSMV
  2. Criminal Penalties – The Courts

The administrative componenet is pretty straight forward. Your going to have these sanctions levied on you.

The Court can additionaly add additional fines and penalites to your DUI case like adding jail time. While there isn’t any administrative jail time the courts can proscribe up to 6 months even on the first offiese.

Administrative Penalties

In most cases the DHSMV Florida Department of Highway Safety And Motor Vehicles will administrativly suspend your license for:

BAC of Less Than .08% – 6 Month Suspension

  • Blood Alcohol Level Of Less Than .08%
  • Fine of $500 – $1,000
  • Probation of up to 1 year
  • Community Service 50 hour minimum

BAC of .08% or Higher – Refuse Testing

  • Refuse Testing – 1 Year Suspension
  • BAC of .15% or more Fine of %1,000 – $2,000
  • Passenger Under 18 In Car – Fine of %1,000 – $2,000
  • Where a Person Suffers Serious Bodily Injury – Fine up to $5,000
  • Community Service 50 hour minimum
  • Probation of


Court Ordered Penalties



Jail Time – There isn’t a mandatory minimum for jail time on a standard first time offense DUI.


  •  6 months maximum
  • 9 months for BAC of .15% or more
  • 9 months for passenger under 18 years old
  • 1 year accident involving property damage or minor injuries
  • 5 years with accident involving serious bodily injury


Florida judges must put you on probation even for a first time DUI offense. In most cases jail time and probation will not exceed 1 year.

License Suspension

Seperate from the Administrative Penelties discussed above court ordered license suspensions range from 6 months to 1 year. The two can overlap in some cases but don’t expect it.

Ignition Interlock Devices

For first time DUI offenses the Florida courts are not required to order ignition interlock devices.

BAC’s of .08% or higher – Judges have the ability to order ignition interlock devices for 6 months or more.

BAC’s of .15% or higher – Mandatory 6 months on ignition interlock device or if a passenger under 18 was in the car.

Vechicle Impoundment – First time DUI offense, car impounded for 10 days. The 10 days are not counted while your in jail by the way. Oouch!



Let’s Work Together